HomeFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 

ANOTHER GOOD NIGHT

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DUANE
Admin

PostSubject: ANOTHER GOOD NIGHT   Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:05 pm

Karl and i returned to our new darksite on Tuesday night.As i was setting up and waiting for Karl to arrive a lady from a neighboring farm close by ask me as she walked past if i was taking photographs,i informed her that i was an Amateur Astronomer.
She stood while i finished setting up then Karl arrived and introductions were made,her name been Jane.She asked if when it was dark if she could come back and have a look through the two scopes to which we very much agreed.
As the skies darkened,we both started surveying the heavens,first Jupiter showing three of the Gallilean moons Ganymede to the far left,Io very close to the giant planets left side,and Callisto to the far right,Europa the fourth moon was hidden behind Jupiter.
Features on the planet Jupiter showed a dark northern band and to the south three fainter ones,no G.R.S. was visible at this time.I used a 40mm plossl at 50x for this observation.
Just then Jane returned and both Karl and i got down to showing her Jupiter which when she saw the jovian family she was blown away by the sight in the eyepiece.Karl showed her one or two of his own personal favourites like the smiling face in the lower half of Auriga.When he showed her Venus she was surprised at how bright it actually was through the eyepiece.
I then showed her the 5 day old Moon and she was amazed at the fine detail she could see,especially the craters and mountains,telling her to look where the Terminator was she could pick out shadows in some other craters making a vast contrast to the ones in the illuminated side.
I showed her m.42 the Great Orion Nebula and she just could not believe her eyes.Karl explained to her about the four stars in the Trapezium,and what why and how they were there.